Skip to content

Old Image: Desert View Watchtower

August 10, 2009

One of the great opportunities that I had during my college years was to make a visit to the Grand Canyon. I was traveling back and forth from Florida to California (where I attended college) and during one of my trips I spent a couple of days visiting this amazing place. I really had no plan other than to drive around and see what I could see (which was not the best idea looking back). Nevertheless, one of the beautiful sites that I came upon was the Desert View Watchtower at the eastern end of the south rim. I first came to it early in the day and made a commitment to come back at the end of the day. This is one of the images I made that evening and one of my favorite memories from that time.

op_desertviewtower

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hayley permalink
    August 12, 2009 1:37 pm

    Beautiful!

    • thomas brooks permalink*
      August 12, 2009 2:30 pm

      Thank you Hayley. I really like this image, especially considering that it came from a point-and-shoot and I was not putting much thought into composition at that time. It was simply a beautiful setting that would have been hard to take a bad picture of.

Leave a Reply

